What Conservatism Really Means

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Opinion, Politics
Tags: , , ,

CONSERVATISM:

I’m tired of hearing people misrepresent what conservatism stands for, and what it means. These folks say things like: “Conservatives hate change, they want things to go back to how they used to be,” “Conservatives are racists, they hate Obama because he is black,” “Republicans are all a bunch of Bible thumpers, they want to force their religious beliefs on everyone else,” “Conservatives hate the government.” I know I probably won’t change anyone’s mind about us, but I am going to try.

Conservatives Do Not Want Anything To Change:
If this is what you think, then you are obviously uninformed. The thing that makes a person a conservative is the desire to conserve the constitution, and this has been the core of the republican party since Lincoln. Slavery, supported by democrats, was as unconstitutional as any issue to ever face Americans. As for the distrust of change of any sort, this is also a falsehood. There are loads of changes we want. All of them have to do with preserving the constitution, though. Take Obamacare for example, one reason republicans want to throw it out is that giving people the right to healthcare intrudes on another person’s rights. If I have a right to a private person’s service then that person is forced to give me their time. Which is unconstitutional, because the constitution gives us the right to life, liberty, and property, so long as those don’t intrude on or inhibit another’s rights. Thomas Jefferson said it best,

“Of liberty I would say that, in the whole plenitude of its extent, it is unobstructed action according to our will. But rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add ‘within the limits of the law,’ because law is often but the tyrant’s will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual.”

Not to mention what the administration calls a “tax” is really a fee, a fee that forces people to buy a product, and that’s unconstitutional, I don’t give a damn what the puppets in the supreme court say. That’s only one of many examples, but I need to move on. Feel free to add your own examples in the comments section.

Conservatives Are All Racists:
Just as a disclaimer, I know some conservatives are racists and I know a lot of democrats who are racist also, but my argument is that too many people hear the word conservative or republican and automatically think racist. This is due, in part, to uninformed people. I’ve already covered that Lincoln was a Republican, but even during segregation and the Jim Crow era the democrats were the one’s fighting to keep denying blacks their constitutional rights. The democrats started the KKK. Martin Luther King Jr. was a republican. So if anyone can tell me what it is that has made us all into a bunch of racists, I’d love to see it in the comments section.

The argument that people who oppose Barry are racists is already stale. It’s to the point that the word is so overly misused that the only thing it’s any good for is helping to identify the idiot in the room. If you’re at a party or Walmart or where ever and you hear someone say, “That’s racist!” you can guarantee the person who said it is a complete moron. Yea, I said it.

Conservatives Want To Force Christianity On Everyone:
Of course, you don’t have to be a Christian to be conservative and you don’t have to be a conservative to be a Christian. There are plenty of Christian Democrats all over the country, I know several that I work with who are also Baptist preachers. Being a Christian, one is supposed to spread the gospel, as with most religions. I see nothing wrong with it. The fact that there are people who get mad when someone tells them, “Merry Christmas,” at the check out line is proof that some people do. I have known some atheists who would jump at any opportunity to announce what they do or dot believe, and even if I don’t like what they say, I don’t have a problem with them saying it. That’s how it’s supposed to work here, people are allowed to think what they want and they can try to spread their own version of the truth. Republicans have no desire to make everyone follow Christ.

When it comes to social issues like abortion and gay marriage, most conservatives disagree with legalizing these things. Abortion is an easy one, you can call it what you want but an unborn fetus is at the very least the potential for life. If you prevent life from taking place then you are denying that fetus the right to life, liberty, and a pursuit of happiness. Another example of conservatives conserving the constitution.

“If we accept that a mother can kill even her own child, how can we tell other people to not kill each other? Any country that accepts abortion is not teaching its people to love, but to use any violence to get what they want.” -Mother Teresa Of Calcutta

Conservatives Hate The Government:
The cornerstone of conservatism is limited government. A belief that the American people don’t need Big Brother regulating every move try make is not the same as anarchy.

“Government’s view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidise it.” -Ronald Reagan

The government is necessary, but it has to be limited, if not it will continue to grow like a tumor left to it’s own devises. When a government bureaucracy gets as big as ours it becomes inefficient and keeps growing until it collapses in own itself. Regulation and taxation is the number one reason for the unemployment problem. It’s harder to start a business in the Untied States now than it has ever been because of all the red tape and fees associated with getting started. According to the Index of Economic Freedom the United States has fallen from 2nd, behind only Hong Kong, in economic freedom in 2000 to 18th in 2012. Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, Switzerland, Australia, and Canada are this years top dogs. The full report is available HERE. This is the result of over a decade of over spending and over regulation, Clinton then the “moderate” G.W. Bush and now Dear Ruler.

I doubt I’ve changed anyone’s mind and you can believe what you want. All I can do I present the facts, what you do with them is on your conscious. Like a liberal Facebook “friend” said when I corrected his disinformation in his status update in the comments, “If I disagree with what you say, I’ll just delete your comment.” I responded with sources and, “it doesn’t matter if you disagree, what I said is a fact, if you disagree with facts they are still facts and that makes you a little delusional.” I was swiftly blocked. Chalk one up for the good guys.

So remember…

If you disagree feel free to give me an ear full, well I guess it’d be an eye full, in the comments and if you like-it-alot subscribe.

And…

Facts are to a liberal as an iPhone is to an AARP member.

They just don’t get it.

Comments
  1. chris storey says:

    I’m an AARP member

  2. chris storey says:

    no, my phone is one step up from a Jitterbug

  3. […] month I explained what being a conservative means to me. Now I want to talk about why it is so dang impossible to have an intelligent […]

Leave a Reply

