School Shooting & Gun Control

Posted: December 15, 2012 in America, News
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s not really my style to post or comment about things like this but I would like to share my thoughts on this shooting in Connecticut.

I’ll start with the most obvious thing, this is definitely a tragedy and my thoughts and prayers have been on the lives that were thrown away and the grieving families that will have to start a new year with a hole in their hearts.

That being said..

Anytime you have a tragedy of this nature you have all the other generic responses. You have a wide range of solutions thrown up, only to be forgotten in a few weeks time.

On the left there are the people damning the violent culture we have in America and the guns. Where as on the right, you have the argument that there should no “gun-free zones”. Then in the middle you have the people who look to the left, then the right, and shrug their shoulders and say, “I don’t know, we should legalize pot.”

Anyone who reads my writing knows that I’m a staunch conservative. As far as my opinion on “gun control” goes, it’s mostly a right leaning viewpoint. Anything that looks to me like the government restricting law-abiding citizens from owning or possessing firearms will raise my cackles. However, I do think that there is room for improvement on controlling who can legally possess a firearm. I’m hearing on the news that this 20 year old kid had a history of mental problems and that the weapons he used were taken from his mother, who he also killed. I don’t know what can be done to prevent a woman with a mentally unstable son form owning guns but even the NRA supports somewhat stricter gun control. Closing some gun show loop holes, for example.

I’d also like to see “gun-free-zones” go by the wayside. If you think about it, all these shootings take place in “gun-free-zones”. The only people who abide by those laws, like any other law, are the people who obey the law and won’t be shooting people down for sport.

I don’t know when Americans will start looking at history and learning from it. I could go into a rant about what happens in countries that outlaw guns but I’ll save that for another day. Let’s just look at our own history when it comes to prohibition. When you hear “prohibition”, alcohol is probably the first thing that comes to mind. If you remember correctly the prohibition of alcohol, nation wide, lead to the rise of the mafia, which eventually lead to the abolition of prohibition. Now with the “war on drugs” we still have people doing drugs, but we also have “ganstas” making money off of it. Which is slowly leading to the legalization of Mary Jane.

With this in mind, what do you think will happen if we do eventually ban the possession of firearms by citizens? The citizens will turn over their guns, but the bad guys will still be able to get guns and then the people won’t be able to defend themselves. It doesn’t matter what law you put on the books, people will still break it, laws don’t stop some people.

Just something to think about.

Smoke’em if ya got’em

    COMMENT
    LIKE
    SUBSCRIBE
Leave a Reply

