Christmas Time In The Real World

Posted: December 25, 2012 in Rant Time
Tags: ,

Warning: this is not exactly my usual political post!

Well, Christmas is over and most people have been spending time with their families, as I have. But now that it’s over we all go back to our own normal lives. We take down the decorations, finish off the leftovers, and break in our newest possessions. As we leave behind our day of family, friends, and feasts, it is important to reflect on our blessings this Christmas and, since we are closing on years end, our blessings for this year.

While I was devouring a baked ham at my mother’s house, something that is a blessing in and of itself, some family was digging in a dumpster. While I was having a late Christmas Eve lunch with my dad, some young boy was missing his father who is away fighting terrorism. While I ate an early Christmas breakfast at my wife’s grandmother’s house, someone was mourning the loss of their grandparent. While I was exchanging gifts at my mother-in-law’s house, some mother was remembering a child, tragically lost.

I don’t mean to be a downer, but I feel that it’s important to keep the poor, hungry, and lonely on our minds, even while enjoying our own blessings. Some people go through life never reaching such a low at Christmas, and for those people it must be harder to contemplate that hardship.

For me, at the end of the year, I like to look back at how far I’ve come over the last few years. I have to say that, as far as the big four, not much has changed. I still live in the same apartment, in the same town. I still work for the same company. I still drive my ole Chevy. And, of course, I still have the same lovely wife.

But, though these things matter, it’s the small things that make life worth living. My apartment has nicer things in it. I received, somewhat, of a promotion at work. My ole Chevy is a little ole-er. And, of course, my lovely wife is more beautiful by the day.

Even though I have nothing to complain about I can’t help thinking about the people who aren’t as fortunate as I am. Now I’m not the kind of person to say someone who is having a hard time is “less fortunate”, because I believe that quite a few of the “less fortunate” aren’t unfortunate, only “less capable of making good choices”. The people I consider less fortunate are the children who are born to unwed single moms in the “ghetto” or the parents who gave all they could to their children only to have them taken away by senseless violence perpetrated by a mad man.

With all the bad news of the last year there is plenty to feel bad about, but that also means there is plenty to be thankful for, and without the bad the good doesn’t seem quite so great.

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

    LIKE
    SHARE
    COMMENT
    SUBSCRIBE
Leave a Reply

